Bits and Pics


Some nice sites (others exist also) at and where I got to meet at Los Alamos and the University of Maryland, College Park some favorite people like Vern Cottles, Harold Agnew (best Los Alamos Director ever), George Zweig, Hans Bethe, Pete Carruthers, Nick Metropolis, Stan Ulam, Geoff West, Sig Hecker, Pete Miller, Mitch Feigenbaum, Carroll Alley, Betty Simes, Jack F. Barnes, Jim N. Johnson, Chuck Forest, Ben Attencio (San Ildefonso Pueblo), Chuck Mader, Joe Sucher, George Snow, Dave Peaslee, Fred Zachariasen, Francis Harlow, Mike Nieto, Jim Friar, Chuck Zemach, Terry Goldman, Gene McCall, Gerry Guralnik, Jim Barefield, George Snow, Howard Laster, Ralph Menikoff , and of course my UMD postdoc advisor Professor Sadao Oneda (in a favorite watering hole near UMD, I met with Carroll and Sadao and wound up switching from quantum electronics to non-perturbative particle physics!) and his fantastic family.

Pic (circa 1977) Milt Slaughter in the Elementary Particles and Field Theory Group (T-8) of the Theoretical Division of Los Alamos Scientific Laboratory (now known as Los Alamos National Laboratory)

Pic (circa 1976) Milt Slaughter (postdoc in the Center for Theoretical Physics), Department of Physics of the University of Maryland, College Park

I and my good friend and colleague Ralph Menikoff going over some really nice results.

My Boss (Group Leader Chuck Mader) let me do "my thing" after T-14 business was concluded.

First Year (Group MP-4) in the Clinton P. Anderson Meson Physics Facility of Los Alamos National Laboratory of the University of California

Information at a glance on Milt Slaughter

IAEA International Expert

UPDATE: Status of Underrepresented Minorities in STEM (PDF, November 1, 2017)-Sample Program Solution Outline for an University Organizational Unit (UOU)

American Physical Society Forum on Education: General Member-at-Large and Executive Committee Member and Officer

Chairman (2009-Present)/Member, Edward Bouchet Abdus Salam Institute (EBASI) of the Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics (ICTP) [Founding Member appointed 1988 by Nobel Laureate Prof. Abdus Salam; ICTP Founding Director]

Chair and Member of the American Physical Society Committee on Minorities in Physics

Fellow, American Physical Society

Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science

Reflections in Diversity: Increasing Minority Participation in University STEM Programs. Optics & Photonics News, 05 December 2014

(Archived Web Site—Milton D. Slaughter, Principal Investigator)
Next Step 2000 Program: The University of New Orleans component of the State-wide Louisiana Alliance for Minority Participation Program
(Milton D. Slaughter, Principal Investigator with other Co-PIs).